Our dedicated team led by our Graduate Deans works together to provide academic services, financial support resources, admissions and outreach programming, and professional development for all our graduate students here at UC Santa Barbara. 

Staff are available for consultations or advising via Zoom.

Please contact the relevant staff member to schedule a virtual meeting. Click on the staff member's name in the directory to find out more about their role at the Graduate Division.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Graduate Division Deans

Name

Phone

Email

Leila Rupp Dr. Leila Rupp
Interim Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean
(805) 893-2013 leila.rupp@ucsb.edu
Paige Digeser Dr. Paige Digeser
Associate Graduate Dean
(805) 893-2013 paige.digeser@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Mary Hegarty Dr. Mary Hegarty
Associate Graduate Dean
(805) 893-2013 mary.hegarty@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Robert Hamm Dr. Robert Hamm
Assistant Graduate Dean
(805) 893-2013 robert.hamm@graddiv.ucsb.edu

To make an appointment with our Associate and/or Assistant Deans, please contact Jackie Snider, Executive Assistant to the Deans.

To request a media interview with our Deans or a member of our staff, please contact Marge Perko, Marketing and Communications Director.

For questions about Graduate Division finance, administration, or job listings, please contact Amber Shelor, Finance & Administration Manager.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Finance and Administration

Name

Phone

Email

Amber Shelor Amber Shelor
Finance and Administration Manager
(805) 893-2013 amber.shelor@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Jackie Snider Jackie Snider
Executive Assistant to the Deans
(805) 893-2013 jackie.snider@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Haley Martin Haley Martin
Finance & Administrative Analyst
(805) 893-5629 haley.martin@graddiv.ucsb.edu

Graduate Division Office Location and Information

For questions about Graduate Division office hours or to locate our main office, click here.

Questions?

Call (805) 893-2277.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

To contact the Academic Services team or to make an appointment with an Academic Advisor, send an email to gradacademics@graddiv.ucsb.edu.

To make an appointment with our Academic Counselor: Our Graduate Academic Counselor, Ryan Sims, is available to support students with their academic journey.

For specific questions relating to your department or degree requirements, please contact your department directly.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Admissions, Outreach, and Diversity

Name

Phone

Email

Walter Boggan Walter Boggan
Admissions, Outreach, and Diversity Initiatives Director
(805) 893-2322 walter.boggan@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Mallarie Stevens Mallarie Stevens
Associate Director, Graduate Admissions
she/her
(805) 893-2278 mallarie.stevens@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Briana Munoz-Flores Briana Muñoz-Flores
Assistant Director, Outreach
she/her
(805) 893-2104 briana.munoz-flores@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Carlos Nash Carlos Nash
Director, Diversity Programs
he/him
(805) 893-2559 carlos.nash@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Michele Johnson Michele Johnson
Assistant Director, Diversity Initiatives
& UC LEADS Systemwide Director
she/her
(805) 893-4424 michele.johnson@graddiv.ucsb.edu

If you are following up on an application or have questions about the process email gradadmissions@graddiv.ucsb.edu or call (805) 893-2277. To contact your department's diversity officer, consult the directory

For questions about the Graduate Scholars Program contact Michele Johnson, Assistant Director of Diversity Initiatives.

For questions about outreach and summer bridge programs, contact Briana Muñoz-Flores, Assistant Director of Outreach.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

UC LEADS

Name

Phone

Email

Michele Johnson Michele Johnson
Systemwide Director
she/her
(805) 893-4424 graddiv-ucleadssystemwide@ucsb.edu
Briana Munoz-Flores Briana Muñoz-Flores
UCSB Program Coordinator
she/her
(805) 893-2104 briana.munoz-flores@graddiv.ucsb.edu

Learn more about UC LEADS at ucleads.ucop.edu.

Email Briana Muñoz-Flores to learn more about our local UCSB UC LEADS program.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Student Financial Support

Name

Phone

Email

Christopher Dixon Christopher Dixon
Student Financial Support Director
(805) 893-4653 chris.dixon@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Kelly Crowell Kelly Crowell
Assistant Director, Fellowships
(805) 893-2076 kelly.crowell@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Christopher Gifford Christopher Gifford
Assistant Director, Academic Appointments
(805) 893-2559 christopher.gifford@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Elizabeth Acebu Elizabeth Acebu
Financial Systems Analyst
she/her
(805) 893-2277 elizabeth.acebu@graddiv.ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Rudy Reyes
Academic Appt & Fellowship Analyst
(805) 893-2710 rudy.reyes@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Michael Cea Michael Cea
Financial Analyst
(805) 893-8344 mdcea@ucsb.edu

To contact the Student Financial Support team, send an email to financial@graddiv.ucsb.edu

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Crossroads and MRCI

Name

Phone

Email

Mary Hegarty Mary Hegarty
Program Lead
(805) 893-2013 mary.hegarty@graddiv.ucsb.edu

For more information about the Crossroads and MRCI programs, send queries to graddeans@graddiv.ucsb.edu.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Marketing and Communication

Name

Phone

Email

Marge Perko Marge Perko
Marketing and Communication Director
she/her
(805) 893-4833 marge.perko@graddiv.ucsb.edu

For questions about our website, digital media requests, or to arrange for coverage and interviews, contact Marge Perko, Director of Marketing and Communications.

If you would like to participate in our social media series, contact Veronica TorresTo set up a meeting or to schedule video interview, contact Matthew Choi.

If you have questions about a GradPost article, contact Hannah Lawrence, Assistant Professional Development Director and Editor of the GradPost.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Development

Name

Phone

Email

John Lofthus John Lofthus
Assistant Dean
(805) 893-2190 john.lofthus@ucsb.edu
UCSB logo JR Glover
Development & Research Analyst
(805) 893-5741 jrglover@ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Misti Schilling
Development Assistant
(805) 893-3994 misti.schilling@ucsb.edu

For more information on giving opportunities at the Graduate Division, visit our Alumni and Friends section

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Professional Development/Graduate Student Resource Center

Name

Phone

Email

Shawn Warner Dr. Shawn Warner
Professional Development Director
she/her, they/them
(805) 893-2671 shawnwarner@ucsb.edu
Hannah Lawrence Hannah Lawrence
Assistant Director
she/her
(805) 893-4932 hannah.lawrence@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Lana Smith Hale Lana Smith-Hale
Graduate Career Counselor
she/her
(805) 893-4649 lana.smith-hale@sa.ucsb.edu
Robby Nadler Dr. Robby Nadler
Director of Academic, Professional,
and Technical Graduate Writing Development
he/him
(805) 893-3177 robby.nadler@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Chava Nerenberg Chava Nerenberg
Graduate Programming Assistant
gradassistant@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Ranjani Atur Ranjani Atur
Funding Peer Advisor
she/her
fundingpeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Vash Doshi Vash Doshi
Career Peer Advisor
he/him
careergradpeer@sa.ucsb.edu
Julia McClenon Julia McClenon
International Peer Advisor
internationalpeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Sam del Castillo Sam del Castillo
Diversity Peer Advisor
they/them
diversitypeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu

To learn more about the Graduate Student Resource Center staff and its peer advisors, visit the GradPost.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Systems Operation and Analysis

Name

Phone

Email

Melanie Hoven Melanie Hoven
Systems Operation and Analysis Director
(805) 893-4652 melanie.hoven@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Aleks Malinowska Aleks Malinowska
Institutional Research Analyst
aleks.malinowska@graddiv.ucsb.edu
No photo icon Vacant
Database Developer

Learn more about the Graduate Division

What is the Graduate Division?

Still searching for staff and faculty contacts at UC Santa Barbara?

UCSB Directory Search