Our dedicated team led by our Graduate Deans works together to provide academic services, financial support resources, admissions and outreach programming, and professional development for all our graduate students here at UC Santa Barbara. 

Staff are available for consultations or advising via Zoom.

Please contact the relevant staff member to schedule a virtual meeting. Click on the staff member's name in the directory to find out more about their role at the Graduate Division.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Graduate Division Deans

Name

Email

Leila Rupp Dr. Leila Rupp
Interim Anne and Michael Towbes Graduate Dean
leila.rupp@ucsb.edu
Dr. Amr El Abbadi Dr. Amr El Abbadi
Associate Graduate Dean
AmrElAbbadi@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Dr. Jin Sook Lee Dr. Jin Sook Lee
Associate Graduate Dean
JinSookLee@graddiv.sa.ucsb.edu
Robert Hamm Dr. Robert Hamm
Assistant Graduate Dean
robert.hamm@graddiv.ucsb.edu

To make an appointment with our Associate and/or Assistant Deans, please contact Jackie Snider, Executive Assistant to the Deans.

Questions? Call (805) 893-2277.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Academic Services

Name

Email

Rickie Smith Rickie Smith
Director
she/her
rickie.smith@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Ashley Bradbury, Academic Services Assistant Director Ashley Bradbury
Assistant Director
she/her
ashley.bradbury@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Ryan Sims Ryan Sims
Associate Director, Academic Counselor
he/him
ryan.sims@graddiv.ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Janice Gore
Academic Advisor
janice.gore@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Ruby Gutierrez, Academic Advisor Ruby Gutierrez
Academic Advisor
she/her
ruby.gutierrez@graddiv.ucsb.edu

To contact the Academic Services team or to make an appointment with an Academic Advisor, send an email to gradacademics@graddiv.ucsb.edu.

To make an appointment with our Academic Counselor: Our Graduate Academic Counselor, Ryan Sims, is available to support students with their academic journey.

For specific questions relating to your department or degree requirements, please contact your department directly.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Admissions, Outreach, and Diversity

Name

Email

Walter Boggan Walter Boggan
Admissions, Outreach, and Diversity Initiatives Director
walter.boggan@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Mallarie Stevens Mallarie Stevens
Associate Director, Graduate Admissions
she/her
mallarie.stevens@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Karen van Gool headshot Karen van Gool
Assistant Director, Outreach
she/her
karen.vangool@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Carlos Nash Dr. Carlos Nash
Director, Diversity Programs
he/him
carlos.nash@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Michele Johnson Michele Johnson
Assistant Director, Diversity Initiatives
& UC LEADS Systemwide Director
she/her
michele.johnson@graddiv.ucsb.edu

If you are following up on an application or have questions about the process email gradadmissions@graddiv.ucsb.edu. To contact your department's diversity officer, consult the directory

Graduate Division Staff Directory

UC LEADS

Name

Email

Michele Johnson Michele Johnson
Systemwide Director
she/her
graddiv-ucleadssystemwide@ucsb.edu
Karen van Gool headshot Karen van Gool
UCSB Program Coordinator
she/her
karen.vangool@graddiv.ucsb.edu

Learn more about UC LEADS at ucleads.ucop.edu.

Email Karen Van Gool to learn more about our local UCSB UC LEADS program.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Student Financial Support

Name

Email

Christopher Dixon Christopher Dixon
Student Financial Support Director
chris.dixon@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Kelly Crowell Kelly Crowell
Assistant Director, Fellowships
kelly.crowell@graddiv.ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Rudy Reyes
Assistant Director, Academic Appointments
rudy.reyes@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Elizabeth Acebu Elizabeth Acebu
Financial Systems Analyst
she/her
elizabeth.acebu@graddiv.ucsb.edu
No photo icon Vacant
Academic Appt & Fellowship Analyst
No photo icon Vacant
Financial Analyst

To contact the Student Financial Support team, send an email to financial@graddiv.ucsb.edu

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Finance and Administration

Name

Email

Amber Shelor Amber Shelor
Finance and Administration Manager
amber.shelor@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Jackie Snider Jackie Snider
Executive Assistant to the Deans
jackie.snider@graddiv.ucsb.edu
No photo icon Vacant
Finance & Administrative Analyst
No photo icon Vacant
Financial & Administrative Assistant

Graduate Division Office Location and Information

For questions about Graduate Division office hours or to locate our main office, click here.

For questions about Graduate Division finance, administration, or job listings, please contact Amber Shelor, Finance & Administration Manager.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Crossroads and NSF AGEP California HSI Alliance

Name

Email

DeanHeadshot Dr. Leila Rupp
Crossroads Program Lead
graddeans@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Dr. Amr El Abbadi Dr. Amr El Abbadi
Institutional PI, NSF AGEP California HSI Alliance
amr.elabbadi@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Carlos Nash Dr. Carlos Nash
Institutional PI, NSF AGEP California HSI Alliance
cnash@ucsb.edu

For more information about Crossroads and NSF AGEP California HSI Alliance programs, send queries to graddeans@graddiv.ucsb.edu.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Marketing and Communication

Name

Email

Marge Pamintuan-Perko, Marketing & Communications Director Marge Pamintuan-Perko
Marketing and Communication Director
marge.perko@ucsb.edu

For questions about our website, digital media requests, or to arrange for coverage and interviews, send a request to graddeans@graddiv.ucsb.edu.

If you have questions about a GradPost article, contact Baron Haber, Assistant Professional Development Director and Editor of the GradPost.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Development

Name

Email

John Lofthus John Lofthus
Assistant Dean
john.lofthus@ucsb.edu
UCSB logo JR Glover
Development & Research Analyst
jrglover@ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Misti Schilling
Development Assistant
misti.schilling@ucsb.edu

For more information on giving opportunities at the Graduate Division, visit our Alumni and Friends section

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Professional Development/Graduate Student Resource Center

Name

Email

Shawn Warner Dr. Shawn Warner
Professional Development Director
she/her, they/them
shawnwarner@ucsb.edu
Baron Haber, Assistant Professional Development Director Dr. Baron Haber
Assistant Director
he/him
baronhaber@ucsb.edu
Lana Smith Hale Lana Smith-Hale
Graduate Career Counselor
she/her
lana.smith-hale@sa.ucsb.edu
Robby Nadler Dr. Robby Nadler
Director of Academic, Professional, and Technical Graduate Writing Development
he/him
robby.nadler@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Chava Nerenberg Chava Nerenberg
Graduate Programming Assistant
she/her
gradassistant@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Liliana Garcia, GSRC Funding Peer Advisor Liliana Garcia
Funding Peer Advisor
she/her
fundingpeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Kasie Mays, Career Peer Kasie Mays
Career Peer Advisor
she/her
careergradpeer@sa.ucsb.edu
Photo of Dee Dee Hong, International Peer Dee Dee Hong
International Peer Advisor
she/her
internationalpeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Felicia Rutland Felicia Rutland
Diversity Peer Advisor
she/her
diversitypeer@graddiv.ucsb.edu

To learn more about the Graduate Student Resource Center staff and its peer advisors, visit the GradPost.

Graduate Division Staff Directory

Systems Operation and Analysis

Name

Email

Melanie Hoven Melanie Hoven
Systems Operation and Analysis Director
melanie.hoven@graddiv.ucsb.edu
Aleks Malinowska Aleks Malinowska
Institutional Research Analyst
aleks.malinowska@graddiv.ucsb.edu
UCSB logo Sahithi Bandi
Database Developer
sahithibandi@ucsb.edu

Learn more about the Graduate Division

What is the Graduate Division?

Still searching for staff and faculty contacts at UC Santa Barbara?

UCSB Directory Search