Diversity Officers are faculty members in each department who advocate for the inclusion of students and guide their department to recruit from diverse backgrounds. They recognize and intervene when students need assistance in their academic, professional, and social lives.

Search here for your department's diversity officer. If you need to update your diversity officer's name and contact information, please contact the Graduate Division.

Anthropology
Stuart Smith
stsmith@anth.ucsb.edu


Art
Vacant
TBA


Biological Engineering
Ryan Stowers
rstowers@ucsb.edu
Arnab Mukherjee
arnabm@engineering.ucsb.edu


Biomolecular Science & Engineering
Zvonimir Dogic
zdogic@physics.ucsb.edu


Chemistry and Biochemistry
Peter Ford
ford@chem.ucsb.edu


Chemical Engineering
Phil Christoper
pchristopher@ucsb.edu
Todd Squires
squires@engineering.ucsb.edu


Chicana and Chicano Studies
D. Ines Casillas
casillas@ucsb.edu


Classics
Sara Lindheim 
lindheim@classics.ucsb.edu


Communication
Dan Lane
dlane@ucsb.edu


Comparative Literature
Nad├Ęge Clitandre
nclitandre@global.ucsb.edu


Computer Science
Daniel Lokshtanov
daniello@ucsb.edu


Counseling, Clinical and School Psychology
Miriam Thompson
miriameadyt@ucsb.edu


Dynamical Neuroscience
Anna Spickard
anna.spickard@dyns.ucsb.edu


Earth Science
Roberta Rudnick
rudnick@ucsb.edu


East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies
Fabio Rambelli
rambelli@religion.ucsb.edu


Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology
Debora Iglesias-Rodriguez
debora.iglesias-rodriguez@lifesci.ucsb.edu


Economics
Richard Startz
startz@ucsb.edu

Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Carolyn Sattin Bajaj 
carolynsattin-bajaj@ucsb.edu


Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jon A. Schuller
jonschuller@ece.ucsb.edu


English
Andrew Griffin
griffin@english.ucsb.edu

Environmental Science and Management
Kristine Duarte 
kduarte@ucsb.edu
Sarah Anderson 
sanderson@bren.ucsb.edu
Ben Halpern 
halpern@nceas.ucsb.edu


Feminist Studies
Mireille Miller-Young
mmilleryoung@ucsb.edu


Film and Media Studies
Alenda Chang
achang@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
Bhaskar Sarkar
sarkar@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
Naoki Yamamoto
yamamoto@yfilmandmedia.ucsb.edu


Geography
Nick Nidzieko
nidzieko@ucsb.edu


Germanic and Slavic Studies
Elisabeth Weber
weber@gss.ucsb.edu


History
Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
mchavezgarcia@history.ucsb.edu


Latin American and Iberian Studies
Kai Thaler
thaler@global.ucsb.edu


Linguistics
Lina Hou
lhou@linguistics.ucsb.edu


Marine Science
Nick Nidzieko
nidzieko@ucsb.edu


Materials
Ram Seshadri
seshadri@mrl.ucsb.edu


Mathematics
Matt Jacobs
majaco@ucsb.edu


Mechanical Engineering
Jeff Moehlis
moehlis@engineering.ucsb.edu

 

Media Arts and Technology
JoAnn Kuchera-Morin
musjkm@create.ucsb.edu
George Legrady
legrady@mat.ucsb.edu
 

Music
Stefanie Tcharos
stcharos@music.ucsb.edu

 

Philosophy
Aaron Zimmerman
azimmerman@philosophy.ucsb.edu
K. T. Falvey
oisin@ucsb.edu


Physics
Timothy Brandt
tbrandt@physics.ucsb.edu


Political Science
Pei-te Lien
plien@polsci.ucsb.edu


Psychological & Brain Sciences
Tamsin Cleo German
amsingerman@ucsb.edu
Karen Szumlinski
szumlinski@ucsb.edu


Religious Studies
Elizabeth Perez
eperez@religion.ucsb.edu
Joseph Blankholm
blankholm@ucsb.edu


Sociology
Catherine Taylor
catetaylor@soc.ucsb.edu


Spanish and Portuguese
Antonio Cortijo
cortijo@spanport.ucsb.edu


Statistics and Applied Probability
Alex Shkolnik
shkolnik@ucsb.edu


Technology Management Program
Renee Rottner
rottner@ucsb.edu
Kyle Lewis
klewis@ucsb.edu


Theater and Dance 
Leticia Garcia
lcgarcia@ucsb.edu