Diversity Officers are faculty members in each department who advocate for the inclusion of students and guide their department to recruit from diverse backgrounds. They recognize and intervene when students need assistance in their academic, professional, and social lives.

Search here for your department's diversity officer. If you need to update your diversity officer's name and contact information, please contact our Assistant Director of Diversity Initiatives.

Anthropology
Gregory Wilson
gdwilson@anth.ucsb.edu


Art
Shana Moulton
smoulton@ucsb.edu


Biomolecular Science and Engineering
John Lew
lew@lifesci.ucsb.edu


Chemical Engineering
Scott Shell
shell@engineering.ucsb.edu


Chemistry and Biochemistry
Peter Ford
pcford@ucsb.edu


Chicana and Chicano Studies
Ines Casillas
casillas@ucsb.edu


Classics
Sara Lindheim 
lindheim@ucsb.edu


Communication
Dan Lane
dlane@ucsb.edu


Comparative Literature
Nadège Clitandre
nclitandre@global.ucsb.edu


Computer Science
Chandra Krintz
ckrintz@cs.ucsb.edu


Counseling, Clinical and School Psychology
Miriam Thompson
miriameadyt@ucsb.edu


Dynamical Neuroscience
Anna Spickard
anna.spickard@dyns.ucsb.edu


Earth Science
Roberta Rudnick
rudnick@ucsb.edu


East Asian Languages and Cultural Studies
Mayfair Yang
yangm@ucsb.edu


Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology
Ryoko Oono
ryoko_oono@ucsb.edu


Economics
Richard Startz
startz@ucsb.edu

Gevirtz Graduate School of Education
Diana Arya 
darya@education.ucsb.edu 
Carolyn Sattin Bajaj 
carolynsattin-bajaj@ucsb.edu


Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jon A. Schuller
jonschuller@ece.ucsb.edu


English
Andrew Griffin
fblake@english.ucsb.edu


Environmental Science and Management
Kristine Duarte kristine@bren.ucsb.edu 
Kyle Meng kmeng@bren.ucsb.edu


Feminist Studies
Matt Richardson
mmilleryoung@femst.ucsb.edu


Film and Media Studies
Alenda Chang
achang@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu


Geography
Nick Nidzieko
nidzieko@ucsb.edu


Global Studies
Javiera Barandiaran
javiera@ucsb.edu


History
Butch Ware
bware@history.ucsb.edu


History of Art and Architecture
Nuha N.N. Khoury
khoury@arthistory.ucsb.edu


Latin American and Iberian Studies
Kai Thaler
thaler@global.ucsb.edu


Linguistics
Lynn Hou
lhou@linguistics.ucsb.edu


Marine Science
Nick Nidzieko
nidzieko@ucsb.edu


Materials
Angela Pitenis
apitenis@ucsb.edu


Mathematics
Zheng Liu
zliu@math.ucsb.edu


Mechanical Engineering
Alban Sauret
asauret@ucsb.edu

Media Arts and Technology
JoAnn Kuchera-Morin
jkm@mat.ucsb.edu


Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Ruth Finkelstein
finkelst@ucsb.edu


Music
Stefanie Tcharos
stcharos@ucsb.edu


Philosophy
Aaron Zimmerman
azimmerman@philosophy.ucsb.edu


Physics
Timothy Brandt
tbrandt@physics.ucsb.edu


Political Science
Satyajit Singh
satyajitsingh@ucsb.edu


Psychological & Brain Sciences
Karen Szumlinski
karen.szumlinski@psych.ucsb.edu


Religious Studies
Elizabeth Perez
eperez@religion.ucsb.edu


Sociology
Kevin Whitehead
kwhitehead@soc.ucsb.edu


Spanish and Portuguese
Antonio Cortijo
cortijo@spanport.ucsb.edu


Statistics and Applied Probability
Alex Shkolnik
shkolnik@ucsb.edu


Technology Management Program
Renee Rottner
rottner@ucsb.edu


Theater and Dance 
Leticia Garcia
lcgarcia@ucsb.edu